| Walters wants Boks to give Wales a 'good stuffing’

Cape Town – Welshman Aled Walters, who is the Springboks Head of Athletic Performance, admitted that his allegiance will be with South Africa on Saturday evening.

The Springboks face Wales in a once-off Test at the RFK Stadium in Washington DC.

Walters, who worked with Bok coach Rassie Erasmus at Munster, said that he hopes the Springboks give Wales a good ‘hiding’. 

“On Saturday I’ll give my all for South Africa and I really hope we give Wales a good stuffing,” Walters told the BBC Radio Cymru.

“It’s such an honour to work with a team such as South Africa and if I can’t work for Wales, then working for such a famous and proud team is great.”

The Springboks have a proud history against Warren Gatland’s charges – having played 33 Tests, won 28, lost four and drawn once.

However, the Boks go into Saturday’s Test having lost three of their last five games against the Welsh.

“They’re similar to Wales in many ways in that rugby means everything,” Walters said. “It’s an opportunity to work in another country and to have a totally different experience.”

The Springboks, led by Pieter-Steph du Toit, have 13 uncapped players in their match-day squad.

Walters revealed that the Springboks have their eye on the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan.

“We only have 18 games before the World Cup so when you think about it these boys winning first caps on Saturday will ideally have 10 or 15 caps before the World Cup,” he said.

“Yes we have one eye on the World Cup but at the same time we expect these boys to perform on Saturday.”

Kick-off is at 23:00 SA time.


South Africa

15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit (captain), 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Warrick Gelant


15 Hallam Amos, 14 Tom Prydie, 13 George North, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Ellis Jenkins (captain), 6 Seb Davies, 5 Cory Hill, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Nicky Smith

Substitutes: 16 Ryan Elias, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Aaron Wainwright, 21 Aled Davies, 22 Rhys Patchell/Gareth Davies, 23 Hadleigh Parkes

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Sport Rugby

Leave a Reply