| Top PSL goalscorers in the past 10 seasons

Cape Town – There’s been much debate regarding the Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer award, especially at the end of the 2017/18 season.

Rodney Ramagalela and Percy Tau both scored 11 goals for season, seeing them end the season as joint-top scorers on Tuesday evening at the annual PSL Awards.

However, former Kaizer Chiefs striker Mike Mangena believes a player should not receive a top goalscorer award for 11 goals.

He also says that the PSL should change the number of goals a player must score in order to claim the award.

“Maybe you should say this award is for those that reach this number of goals. Do you hear what I’m saying? Eleven goals, the whole year? Something is wrong here and I don’t know, please,” Mangena said.

Meanwhile, Bernard Parker is of the opinion that attacking midfielders are to be blamed for strikers scoring less each season.

“They (midfielders) are the most influential footballers at the moment. They are the ones who make things happen and feed strikers, and they are the ones who decide games,” said Parker.

During the 2004/05 campaign, Collins Mbesuma racked in 25 goals for Amakhosi which still remains the most goals scored in a PSL season.

In 2013/14 campaign, Parker managed to score 10-goals, the fewest a player has ever scored and won the top goalscorer award.

While the debate continues, here is a list of the top goalscorers in the last 10 seasons in the Absa Premiership.

Top Goalscorers in the last 10 PSL Seasons:

2009/10 – Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns) – 17

2011/12 – Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows) -20

2010/11 – Knowledge Musona (Kaizer Chiefs) – 15

2011/12 – Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows) – 19

2012/13 – Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) – 12

2013/14 – Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) – 10

2014/15 – Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars) – 14

2015/16 – Collins Mbesuma (Mpumalanga Black Aces) – 14

2016/17 – Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City) – 13

2017/18 – Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City) and Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) – 11

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Sport Soccer

Leave a Reply