| Second women’s West Indies v SA ODI washed out

Cape Town – The second ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) One-Day International (ODI) match between the West Indies and South Africa was rained out at Kensington Oval on Wednesday.

The visitors are 1-0 up in the three-match series.

Persistent torrential rain caused a delay to the start of play earlier in the day, seeing the match reduced to 43 overs a side. It was further reduced to 38 overs after another hour was lost 10 overs into the South African innings after they were put in to bat first.

Captain Dané van Niekerk starred with the bat, hitting 53 from 66 deliveries (3x4s, 1×6). Her 67-run, sixth-wicket partnership with vice-captain Chloe Tryon (37 off 44, 2x4s) steered their side out of trouble after they found themselves four wickets down for 85 in the 22nd over.

Deandra Dottin (3/29) was the pick of the bowlers, accounting for Suné Luus (20) and Lizelle Lee (22) at the top of the order and Marizanne Kapp (5) in the middle. Other wicket contributions came from Anisa Mohammed (1/21), Shakera Selman (1/32) and Shamilia Connell (1/39) as South Africa was restricted to 177/8 in the end.

The rain returned soon after the innings break commenced, causing the umpires to call the match.

Saturday’s clash will be vital for both sides as the Windies attempt to level the series and the Proteas search for that elusive ODI series win in the Caribbean.

Proteas squad for Match 2:

Dané van Niekerk (captain, Eastern Province), Chloe Tryon (vice-captain, KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Lizelle Lee (North West), Suné Luus (Northerns), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng), Masabata Klaas (North West), Zintle Mali (Border), Tumi Sekhukhune (Easterns)


Hilton Moreeng (Head coach), Salieg Nackerdien (Assistant coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Manager), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Russell Clarke (Strength & Conditioning coach), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Sipokazi Sokanyile (Media Liaison)

Tour schedule:

Saturday, September 22: 3rd IWC ODI – Kensington Oval

Monday, September 24: 1st T20I – Kensington Oval

Friday, September 28: 2nd T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Sunday, September 30: 3rd T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Wednesday, October 3: 4th T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Saturday, October 6: 5th T20I – Brian Lara Cricket Academy

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Sport Cricket

Leave a Reply