| India opt to bowl in ODI decider against Windies

Cuttack – India skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bowl in the third and deciding one-day international against West Indies in Cuttack on Sunday.

The hosts have made one change with debutant paceman Navdeep Saini coming in for Deepak Chahar who injured his back in the team’s series-levelling win on Wednesday.

“We played against England at a similar time here (in Cuttack) and defending 380 was a challenge,” Kohli said at the toss.

“Toss gives you an advantage, yes, but that doesn’t mean we’ll still win if we play reckless cricket. It’s also good to see how we’ve responded when we’ve lost tosses too.”

West Indies, led by Kieron Pollard, are unchanged despite losing their previous ODI by 107 runs in Visakhapatnam.

Pollard said the opening batsmen need to lay a good platform for the team that is looking to improve on their past mistakes.

“I’m not exactly sure about how the pitch would behave. It’s a matter of assessing the pitch and playing good cricket,” said Pollard.

“Hopefully, the openers will set up a good platform for the others to take it forward.”


India: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Kedar Jadhav Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini

West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Alzarri Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell

Umpires: Shaun George (RSA), Nitin Menon (IND)

TV umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Sport Cricket

Leave a Reply