| Cheetahs let it slip against Cardiff Blues

Cape Town – The Cardiff Blues got the better of the Cheetahs in their PRO14 encounter at Cardiff Arms Park on Friday evening.

The Blues won 24-21 after leading 10-7 at half-time.

The home side scored three tries through Rey Lee-Lo, Lloyd Williams, Olly Robinson. While flyhalf Gareth Anscombe landed three conversions and a penalty.

The Cheetahs replied with three tries by Walt Steenkamp, Rabs Maxwane and Benhard Janse van Rensburg.

Flyhalf Tian Schoeman landed all three conversions for the Bloemfontein-franchise, but it wasn’t enough to secure the win.

Franco Smith’s charges remain winless in five PRO14 matches – having drawn last week against Ulster – and remain at the bottom of the Conference A standings.

In next weekend’s PRO14 action, the Cheetahs travel to Scotland to take on Edinburgh at BT Murrayfield Stadium on Friday, October 5 (20:35 SA time), while the Blues take on the Dragons on Saturday, October 6.

On Saturday, the Southern Kings take on the Scarlets at Parc y Scarlets (19:30 SA time).


Cardiff Blues

Tries: Rey Lee-Lo, Lloyd Williams, Olly Robinson

Conversions: Gareth Anscombe (3)

Penalty: Anscombe


Tries: Walt Steenkamp, Rabs Maxwane, Benhard Janse van Rensburg

Conversions: Tian Schoeman (3)


Cardiff Blues

15 Matthew Morgan, 14 Owen Lane, 13 Rey Lee-Lo, 12 Willis Halaholo, 11 Jason Harries, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Josh Turnbull, 7 Ellis Jenkins (captain), 6 Olly Robinson, 5 Rory Thornton, 4 George Earle, 3 Scott Andrews, 2 Kristian Dacey, 1 Rhys Gill

Substitutes: 16 Kirby Myhill, 17 Brad Thyer, 18 Dillon Lewis, 19 Macauley Cook, 20 Sion Bennett, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Steven Shingler, 23 Garyn Smith


15 Ryno Eksteen, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Nico Lee, 11 Rabz Maxwane, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Gerhard Olivier, 5 JP du Preez, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Charles Marais, 18 Gunther Janse van Vuuren, 19 Justin Basson, 20 Stephan Malan, 21 Daniel Maartens, 22 Shaun Venter, 23 Louis Fouche

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Sport Rugby

Leave a Reply