Chelsea duo Eden Hazard and N’Golo Kante named alongside Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea in FIFA World XI, but Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah misses out

dream team

The Premier League trio featured in a team dominated by Real Madrid stars

Premier League trio David De Gea, N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard were named in the FIFA/FIFPro World 11 but world player of the year nominee Mohamed Salah missed out.

The dream team was put together by votes from 25,000 professional footballers from more than 65 countries.

The FIFA World XI

The FIFA World XI

Dani Alves grabbed one full-back spot, with Real Madrid trio Rafael Varane, Sergio Ramos and Marcelo completing the defence.

Luka Modric and Kante were picked in a two-man midfield, with Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe and Hazard in front of them and Cristiano Ronaldo up front.

Hazard said: “I’m just proud to be next to these kind of players.

“They are all top players in the world. Some of them are friends of mine and I’m just happy to be here.”

His Chelsea team-mate Kante was also thrilled to be included.

Hazard strikes a pose at the ceremony

Hazard strikes a pose at the ceremony

He said: “I’m really proud to be here. It’s a great honour to be here. I’m very happy.”

Salah also missed out on FIFA Player of the Year, which was awarded to Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric.

There was some consolation, however, as the Egyptian won the Puskas Award for his strike in last season’s Merseyside derby at Anfield.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Football – news, transfers, fixtures, scores, pictures

Leave a Reply